Thousands of titles | Flat Rate Shipping | Free Returns

Flash Sale!

Buy 2 or more Vinyl Cookies, get 20% off!

James McMurtry  |  SKU: 0CF6I6-EJXV-00  |  Barcode: 607396553716

The Horses And The Hounds [Texas Blue/Black Swirl 2LP, IEX] [Vinyl]

2306 2599
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Join the Paladin Buyers Club today and enjoy an additional 15% off this and everything else, all the time.


In James McMurtry’s new effort, The Horses and the Hounds, the acclaimed songwriter backs personal narratives with effortless elegance (“Canola Fields”) and endless energy (“If It Don’t Bleed”). This first collection in seven years spotlights a seasoned tunesmith in peak form as he turns toward reflection (“Vaquero”) and revelation (closer “Blackberry Winter”). Familiar foundations guide the journey. “There’s a definite Los Angeles vibe to this record,” McMurtry says. “The ghost of Warren Zevon seems to be stomping around among the guitar tracks. Don’t know how he got in there. He never signed on for work for hire.”

The Horses and the Hounds is a reunion of sorts. McMurtry recorded the new album with legendary producer Ross Hogarth (Ozzy Osbourne, John Fogerty, Van Halen, Keb’ Mo’) at Jackson Browne’s Groovemaster’s in Santa Monica, California. Hogarth recorded McMurtry’s first two albums, Too Long in the Wasteland and Candyland and later mixed McMurtry’s first self-produced album, Saint Mary of the Woods. Another veteran of those three releases, guitarist David Grissom (Joe Ely, John Mellencamp, Dixie Chicks), returns with some of his finest work.

  • A1 - Canola Fields
  • A2 - If It Don’t Bleed
  • A3 - Operation Never Mind
  • A4 - Jackie
  • B1 - Decent Man
  • B2 - Vaquero
  • B3 - The Horses And The Hounds
  • C1 - Ft. Walton Wake-Up Call
  • C2 - What’s The Matter
  • C3 - Blackberry Winter
  • Released: 08/20/2021
  • UPC: 607396553716
  • Format: Vinyl
  • Label: New West Records
  • Genre: Alternative