Thousands of titles | Flat Rate Shipping | Free Returns

Pre-Order NOW

Skyrim Ultimate Edition Exclusive!

Pixies  |  SKU: WDSDCW-9H41-00  |  Barcode: 191400063518

Pixies at the BBC [3LP] [Vinyl]

5380 6299
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Join the Paladin Buyers Club today and enjoy an additional 15% off this and everything else, all the time.

Pixies at the BBC is to be released for the first time on triple black vinyl. Also available on double CD and in HD digital audio from March 8th 2024.

Between 1988 and 1991 - during the band’s 4AD years – Pixies recorded six sessions for the BBC, five for John Peel and one for Mark Goodier. Catching the raw energy of the band’s live performances, these sessions felt immediately noteworthy, timestamping a moment when Black Francis, Kim Deal, Joey Santiago and David Lovering were motoring out front.

Among the twenty-four tracks they recorded in this time period (inc. two doubles - ‘Allison’ and ‘Wave of Mutilation’) are favorites from mini-album Come on Pilgrim and three of their four 4AD studio albums. Also recorded were three covers; reworks of The Beatles’ ‘Wild Honey Pie’, Eraserhead’s ‘(In Heaven) Lady in the Radiator Song’ and The Beach Boys’ ‘Hang On To Your Ego’, a track Black Francis covered a few years later on his debut Frank Black solo album.

Differing from the original 1998 compilation, this reboot sees all tracks from the six sessions now included and presented in chronological order. Something fans have been asking for. The sleeve is also new with a wonderful black and gold design by Chris Bigg now adorning it. A design that really stands out, Chris pays loving tribute here to the band’s late-visual director Vaughan Oliver, using unseen archival Pixies imagery
by long-time collaborator Simon Larbalestier.

On the same day as this release, Pixies will be in Dublin on the first night of a sold-out tour where they’re playing both albums Bossanova and Trompe le Monde in full.

  • Format Detail: 3LP, Standard Weight Vinyl, Jacket, Printed Inner Sleeve
  • Released: 03/08/2024
  • Format: Vinyl
  • Released: 03/08/2024
  • UPC: 191400063518
  • Format: Vinyl
  • Label: 4AD
  • Genre: Alternative